We Collect. We Analyse. We Publish
Browse by subject
Search Statistics
SDGs bg

Overview of the 2030 Agenda
The 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development is “a plan of action for people, planet and prosperity”. It promotes universal peace, while seeking to eradicate poverty in all its forms and dimensions. Signed in September 2015, the 2030 Agenda is a Global Pact unanimously agreed to by the 193 Member States of the United Nations to take bold and transformative steps to shift the world onto a sustainable and resilient path, while leaving no on behind. The 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and 169 targets of this Agenda builds on existing global agreements (see links below) and is the successor to the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs). The Sustainable Development Goals and Targets aim to stimulate action over a 15 year period from 2016 – 2030 in areas of critical importance for humanity and the planet.
The implementation of the SDGs in Jamaica is led by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade (MFAFT), the Planning Institute of Jamaica (PIOJ), and the Statistical Institute of Jamaica. These three entities have committed to coordinate and collaborate with other Government Ministries, Departments and Agencies, the Private Sector, Civil Society, Academia and other local, regional and international stakeholders for the successful implementation of the SDGs in Jamaica.
Alignment between the SDGs and Vision 2030 Jamaica – National Development Plan
A Rapid Integration Assessment (RIA) conducted by the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) found a 91.0 per cent alignment between Vision 2030 Jamaica – National Development Plan, the Medium-Term Socio-Economic Policy Framework and the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). Read more
Global SDG Indicator Framework
The global SDG Indicator Framework developed was developed by the Inter-Agency and Expert Group on SDG Indicators (IAEG-SDGs). It contains 244 indicators or 232 unique indicators since nine indicators repeat under two or three different targets. The list of indicators was last updated and agreed upon, including refinements on several indicators, at the 48th session of the United Nations Statistical Commission held in March 2017.
The Inter-Agency and Expert Group on SDG Indicators (IAEG-SDGs) as classified the global SDG Indicator Framework into three (3) tiers. The Tier Classification system is based on the availability of data and the methodological development of the indicators. The Tier Classification was last revised based on decisions at the 5th meeting of the IAEG-SDGs in Ottawa, Canada in March 2017.
  • Tier I: indicator is conceptually clear, has an internationally established methodology and standards are available, and data are regularly produced by countries for at least 50 per cent of countries and of the population in every region where the indicator is relevant
  • Tier II: indicator is conceptually clear, has an internationally established methodology and standards are available but data are not regularly produced by countries
  • Tier III : no internationally established methodology or standards are yet available for the indicator but methodology/standards are being (or will be) developed or tested for the indicator.